10 inducted into Haryana Cabinet

Chandigarh, November 14 

Eighteen days after the BJP-led government was formed in Haryana, CM Manohar Lal Khattar expanded his ministry today, inducting six Cabinet Ministers and four Ministers of State. BJP’s post-poll ally JJP was allotted a berth and so was an Independent. Kamlesh Dhanda was the sole woman MLA to be taken in the Cabinet, which still has two vacancies.

Read also: 

Governor Satyadev Narain Arya administered the oath amid cheering. Six-time MLA Anil Vij, former Speaker and three-time MLA KP Gurjar, Mool Chand Sharma, Ranjit Singh Chautala, Jai Parkash Dalal and Dr Banwari Lal took oath as Cabinet Ministers while Om Prakash Yadav, Kamlesh Dhanda, Anoop Dhanak and former Indian hockey captain Sandeep Singh took oath as Minister of State (independent charge).  

The Haryana Cabinet, that can have a total of 14 ministers, including the CM and Deputy CM, comprises four Jats, two Punjabis, two SCs and a Brahmin, Ahir, Gujjar and Sikh. 

Ranjit Chautala, the younger brother of former CM Om Prakash Chautala, came to wish his nephew and Deputy CM Dushyant Chautala. The latter touched his feet. Ranjit was also a minister in the Devi Lal Cabinet. Gurjar said for proper coordination between the JJP and BJP, a committee had been set up to chalk out a common minimum programme. — TNS

RELATED Haryana Cabinet expansion on Thursday