Cong: Why not Bharat Ratna for Bhagat Singh?

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, October 18

Former Union Minister Manish Tewari, while questioning the BJP government for not proposing the names of Bhagat Singh, Rajguru and Sukhdev for Bharat Ratna, today claimed that it was only during Maharashtra elections that the saffron party had thought of Savarkar for the award.

He later tweeted, “The first people who deserve Bharat Ratna are Shaheed-e-Azam Bhagat Singh, Rajguru & Sukhdev. It begs another question, what stopped the NDA/BJP from giving Sh. Savarkar a Bharat Ratna in the past 5 years. Was there some other Govt in India (sic).”

The BJP has in its manifesto for the Maharashtra Assembly polls proposed Savarkar’s name, among others, for the highest civilian award. Tewari also accused the BJP government in Haryana of  “not allowing the Mohali airport to be named after Bhagat Singh.”

RELATED Manish Tiwari for Bharat Ratna to Bhagat Singh, Rajguru, Sukhdev