NC, PDP, PC candidates file papers from Srinagar

Srinagar, March 26

With the filing of nine nominations for the Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency on the last day on Tuesday, the total number of candidates who have filed their papers has gone up to 12.

The central Kashmir constituency of Srinagar, comprising Srinagar, Budgam and Ganderbal districts, goes to the poll in the second phase on April 18.

Three nominations filed on Monday included that of Farooq Abdullah of the NC, Sheikh Khalid Jehangir of the BJP and Nazir Ahmad Lone of the Rashtriya Jan Kranti Party.

The Congress, which has agreed upon an alliance with the NC for the six LS seats, has decided not to field its candidate against Farooq Abdullah.

The candidates of two other regional parties, PDP and Peoples Conference, also filed their nominations today. They were Agha Mohsin of the PDP and Irfan Reza Ansari of the PC.

Others who filed their nominations today included Abdul Rashid Banday, Independent, Abdul Rashid Ganaie of the National Panthers Party, Abdul Khaliq Bhat of the Shiv Sena, Bilal Sultan, Independent, Nazir Ahmad Sofi of the Manavadikar National Party, Showkat Hussain Khan of the Janata Dal United and Sajad Ahmad Dar, Independent. —TNS

RELATED NC, PDP must pay for politics of exploitation, says Rasheed