MRSPTU architecture students bring laurels

Bathinda, February 11

Students of the department of architecture of Maharaja Ranjit Singh Punjab Technical University (MRSPTU), Bathinda, have brought laurels to the university by bagging a number of prizes in the prestigious annual National Association of Students of Architecture (NASA-2019) convention held in Bengaluru, Karnataka.

The four-day meet was held by SJB School of Architecture and Planning, Bengaluru, recently. Around 191 colleges and about 5,000 delegates (architects, professionals and students from various architecture colleges across the country) participated.

Architecture, urban design, interior design and various competitive events were organised in the convention. Design competitions for trophies, Laurie Baker Trophy, Landscape Trophy, Rubens Trophy, Contemporary House Design, G Sentrophy and Main Design Trophy, were organised.

A delegation of 20 students from MRSPTU participated in the various competitions, workshops and seminars organised during the fest.

In individual entries, Anurag Prajapati and Nishu Rao won the first position in the art installation competition. Manik Singhal, Ashutosh and Diganggana won the second position in the space design competition. The winning students were felicitated with certificates and medals.

Two group entries of MRSPTU students which went up to the final round of design trophies, for which they were felicitated with appreciation certificates. Students worked for the Laurie Baker Trophy under the leadership of Vishesh Verma. Gurpreet Singh, Nishu Rao, Manpreet Singh and Bhinder Singh led the Main Design Trophy.

Renowned architect Daniel Garofalo, Environmental Sustainability Director, University of Pennsylvania, delivered a lecture on “Environmental Responsive Architecture”. — TNS

RELATED MRSPTU students create awareness on traffic rules