Prof Thakur is chief of PGI faculty body

Tribune News Service
Chandigarh, February 11

Prof JS Thakur of the Department of Community Medicine and School of Public Health today became the new president of the PGI Faculty Association for the term 2019-20.

Elections for various posts were held on the campus, in which a total of 310 votes were polled. Prof Thakur got 129 votes to claim the post. Dr BD Radotra of the Department of Histopathology and incumbent president Prof Rajesh Chhabra of the Department of Neurosurgery got 89 and 87 votes, respectively.

The change of guard is going to give impetus to the main agenda of rotational headship, which was the main election plank of the winning members. “Besides, the issues of young faculty, office space, accommodation and pay parity will also be taken up,” said Prof Thakur.

Other office-bearers

Prof Sanjeev Handa, Head, Department of Dermatology, Venereology and Leprosy, defeated Prof Sandeep Grover, Department of Psychiatry, to become the new vice president of the association. Arun Bansal, Dr Arnab Pal and Dr Uma Nahar were elected as secretary, joint secretary and treasurer, respectively. Dr Manisha Biswal, Dr Arun K Jain, Dr Suchet Sachdev, Dr Divjot Singh Lamba, Dr Arpit Gupta and Dr PVM Lakshmi have been elected as the six executive members.

RELATED Balance disorder cases double at PGI